Central Ohio School District Real Estate Property and Income Taxes

Many home buyers I work with, especially those relocating to Central Ohio, are shocked to find out that some Ohio school districts charge an income tax, on top of the real estate property taxes. Not only do you have to factor in real estate property taxes on your monthly mortgage payment, but you’ll also want to verify if the school district has an income tax that you will have to pay too.

According to the Ohio Department of Taxation: As of January 2013, income taxes were in place in 184 school districts in Ohio. Since school districts are constantly passing levies, these figures can change. To find the latest Ohio School district income tax rates visit: http://www.tax.ohio.gov/school_district_income.aspx

Following are the Central Ohio area school districts with an income tax for 2013:

Earned Income Only Tax Base School Districts

Amanda-Clearcreek LSD (Fairfield County) —–1.5%
Circleville CSD (Pickaway County)—–.75%
Jonathan Alder LSD (Franklin, Madison and Union)—–.75%
Lancaster CSD (Fairfield County)—–1.5%
Logan Elm LSD (Hocking and Pickaway Counties) —–1.0%
North Fork LSD (Knox and Licking Counties) —–1.0%
Teays Valley LSD (Fairfield, Franklin and Pickaway)—–1.5%

Traditional Tax Base School Districts

Berne-Union LSD (Fairfield and Hocking Counties) —– 1.0%
Bexley CSD (Franklin County) —– .75%
Big Walnut LSD (Delaware County) —– .75%
Bloom-Carroll LSD (Fairfield County) —– 1.25%
Buckeye Valley LSD (Delaware, Marion, Morrow and Union) —- 1.0%
Canal Winchester LSD (Fairfield and Franklin Counties) —– .75%
Centerburg LSD (Delaware, Knox and Licking Counties) —– .75%
Fairbanks LSD (Madison and Union Counties) —– 1.0%
Fairfield Union LSD (Fairfield, Hocking and Perry) —– 2.0%
Highland LSD (Delaware and Morrow Counties) —– .50%
Johnstown Monroe LSD (Delaware and Licking Counties) —– 1.0%
Liberty Union-Thurston LSD (Fairfield County) —— 1.75%
Licking Valley LSD (Licking and Muskingum Counties) —– 1.0%
London CSD (Madison County) —– 1.0%
Mount Gilead EVSD (Morrow County) —– .75%
Newark CSD (Licking County) —– 1.0%
North Union LSD (Delaware and Union Counties) —–1.0%
Pickerington LSD (Fairfield and Franklin Counties) —- 1.0%
Reynoldsburg CSD (Fairfield, Franklin and Licking)—– .50%
Southwest Licking LSD (Fairfield and Licking Counties) —– .75%
Walnut Township LSD (Fairfield County) —– 1.25%



Also keep in mind, some municipalities have an income tax, which is entirely separate from the school district income taxes mentioned in this article.

Leave a Comment